Joe Perry Readies to Release "Sweetzerland Manifesto," Coming in January 2018

Guitarist's First Solo Album Since 2009

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS – Joe Perry, the legendary guitarist, co-founding member, principal songwriter and co-producer of Aerosmith, is readying his new solo album titled Sweetzerland Manifesto, to be released on January 19, 2018. Due out on his own Roman Records label, (distributed worldwide by AMPED Distribution) Sweetzerland Manifesto marks Joe‘s sixth solo album, and his first release of new material since 2009's Have Guitar Will Travel.

Press release and cover image courtesy of Mitch Schneider Organizations PR * Live photo by Christie Goodwin/Getty Images

All ten tracks were written or co-written by Joe (many with the album’s guest vocalists), except for a cover of “Eve Of Destruction,” with Joe on lead vocals and Johnny Depp on drums. The album features guest appearances from a long list of Joe’s friends, colleagues and rock-and-roll icons.

Highlights include “Aye, Aye, Aye,” which Joe co-wrote with the track’s vocalist Robin Zander (Cheap Trick), and three collaborations with David Johansen (New York Dolls), who sings “I Wanna Roll,” “Haberdasher Blues,” and “I’m Going Crazy,” plus as many co-writes with Terry Reid whose lead vocals light up “I’ll Do Happiness,” (with Ringo's son Zak Starkey on drums), “Sick & Tired” and “Won’t Let Me Go.”

Sweetzerland Manifesto was recorded at Studio 1480 in Los Angeles and produced by Joe and Bruce Witkin, with Johnny Depp serving as executive producer and additional help from Jack Douglas, who co-wrote and co-produced a number of tracks. The album was engineered by Witkin and Joe's son, Tony Perry, and mixed by Tony with Ari Blitz serving as assistant mix engineer at After Master in Los Angeles. On the album, Joe also teams up with Tony and his other son, Roman, on “Spanish Sushi,” which was produced and arranged by The Perry Boys with Joe on guitars and bass, Roman adding synthesizer programming and Tony handling drum programming.

“It’s going to be interesting to see what songs people gravitate to, because there is such a wide variety of tunes,” Joe notes.

The Sweetzerland Manifesto track listing is as follows:

Rumble In The Jungle (instrumental)
I’ll Do Happiness (featuring Terry Reid)
Aye, Aye, Aye (featuring Robin Zander)
I Wanna Roll (featuring David Johansen)
Sick & Tired (featuring Terry Reid)
Haberdasher Blues (featuring David Johansen)
Spanish Sushi (instrumental)
Eve Of Destruction (featuring Joe Perry)
I’m Going Crazy (featuring David Johansen)
Won’t Let Me Go (featuring Terry Reid)

About Joe Perry

Throughout his career, the electrifying lead guitarist of Aerosmith has achieved permanent iconic stature in the pantheon of rock. He has helped to drive Aerosmith, over the course of four decades, to sales of more than 150 million albums, critical acclaim, four Grammy Awards (one of which was for the guitar-based instrumental “Boogie Man”) and induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. To date, Aerosmith has released 15 studio albums, six live albums and 13 compilations.

Joe Perry’s work with Aerosmith has resulted in an unending array of accolades and honors. Beyond their Grammy Awards and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction, other key milestones over Aerosmith's nearly 50 year history include: 12 MTV Video Awards; two People’s Choice Awards; six Billboard Music Awards; eight American Music Awards; 23 Boston Music Awards; and an Academy Award nomination for Best Song, “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing” (from the soundtrack to Armageddon).