Wishbone Ash To Release "The Vintage Years" Box Set and Remastered Editions of "Twin Barrels Burning" and "Raw To The Bone"

LONDON, ENGLAND - 2018 is going to be a "vintage" year for classic rockers Wishbone Ash and their loyal fans, as the band readies to release two, impressive CD packages. Due in February on Cherry Red Records, 1982's Twin Barrels Burning and 1985's Raw To The Bone will be remastered for the first time, followed by an April release of The Vintage Years, a 30-CD (yes, that's right) box set on London's Madfish label.

PRESS RELEASE * Photos courtesy of Glass Onyon PR

Wishbone Ash is one of Britain’s most enduring and best-loved rock acts, and will be celebrated with the release of this comprehensive, deluxe 30-CD box set titled The Vintage Years. The package is loaded with rarities, memorabilia, a new interview and a lavish 156-page hardback book.

Following decades of being starved of unreleased material from the true vintage years from Wishbone Ash, fans will soon be able to enjoy the long-awaited, remastered anthology from this nfluential band. In its pure quality in both musical and printed content, a third of this new collection features previously unheard and unreleased material from the band.

This box set is strictly limited to 2,500 copies and includes all 16 studio albums between 1970-1991, all of which feature bonus material including rare album outtakes, B-sides and 12 previously unreleased studio tracks. The discs are also presented in mini-gatefold sleeves.

Three of the 16 albums, Nouveau Calls, Here to Hear and Strange Affair are currently out-of-print on CD, and the box set will feature brand new cover artwork designed by Colin Elgie, the original designer behind the award-winning Live Dates sleeve artwork.

There are also three original live albums, Live Dates, Live Dates Volume Two and Live in Tokyo, and eight previously unreleased live albums (on 11 discs) recorded between 1973 & 1980.

* Portsmouth Guildhall 1973 (2CD) from the Wishbone Four / Live Dates tour
* Southampton University 1973 from the Wishbone Four / Live Dates tour
* Edinburgh Usher Hall 1976 from the New England tour
* Marquee Club 1977 from the Front Page News tour
* Newcastle City Hall 1977 from the Front Page News tour
* Bournemouth Winter Gardens 1978 (2CD) from the No Smoke Without Fire tour
* Guildford Civic Hall 1980 (2CD) from the Just Testing tour
* Chelmsford Odeon 1980 from the Blowin' Free tour

All the music has been remastered from the original multi-track and quarter-inch tapes, sourced from Martin Turner and Andy Powell's personal collections, and from the Universal Music and Atlantic Records' archives.

Accompanying this incredible collection of repertoire is a 156-page coffee table hardback book written by Classic Rock's Dave Ling, which includes personal photos, rare posters and flyers, and other collector's memorabilia.

The box set also includes:
• 36-page poster book covering the early years, through to Here to Hear .
• Four reproductions of original, 1970s concert posters.
• A Facsimile MCA debut album promo pack.
• A 7-inch flexi disc for the single “Blind Eye,” the first of 11 Japanese singles series.
• Individually signed photos of each band member.

Talking about the release, founding member Martin Turner explains, “I looked after most of these tape recordings for decades, wondering when they would ever see the light of day and I am very glad that they will at last, be available for everyone to hear. I wanted to mix the live performances myself, but being a busy chap and not famous for my speediness, we decided to give it all to the wonderful Pete Reynolds, whom I believe has done a brilliant job of mixing and remastering a massive collection of work. It's almost like having one's whole musical life in one box. It certainly represents the most comprehensive Wishbone collection that I know of and I hope you enjoy it.”

Andy Powell agrees, “It's truly amazing to look back at the musically fertile 70s and 80s and wonder at the sheer amount of incredible creative output from our band. We had great roots and a really strong blue-print for success. I feel blessed to have played my part in it all and I'm truly thankful that it's set the course for my entire life and all the music that's followed, as the band continues to live on into the 21st century.”

Rarely is an anthology of this quality ever released. Wishbone Ash: The Vintage Years is so comprehensive and lovingly-compiled, with such beautiful and quality accompanying material, if ever there was a box set not to miss, this is it!

Due in February on Cherry Red Records, Wishbone Ash's classic 80s era releases Twin Barrels Burning and Raw To The Bone will be re-released for the first time. Each album is available on 2-CD and picture disc LP, with extensive bonus materials. Both albums feature new liner notes by rock journalist Dave Ling, including new interviews with all the surviving members, as well as archive quotes from the late Trevor Bolder.

Twin Barrels Burning is a smoking-hot, 21-track, 2-CD set including the American remixes of the album on a second disc, which have never been available on CD.

Raw To The Bone is a mammoth, 23-track, 2-CD set with bonus tracks, including all four unreleased songs from the post-album, 1986 sessions. The bonus CD also includes The Friday Rock Show BBC Sessions - which are often described as better than the album versions - plus four live tracks from Hammersmith.

Twin Barrels Burning 2-CD Track List:
1. Engine Overheat
2. Can’t Fight Love
3. Genevieve
4. Me and My Guitar
5. Hold On
6. Streets of Shame
7. No More Lonely Nights
8. Angels Have Mercy
9. Wind Up
Bonus Tracks:
10. Cat and Dog Fight
11. Go for the Gold
12. Night Hawker

DISC TWO – The American Remixes
1. Engine Overheat
2. Can’t Fight Love
3. No More Lonely Nights
4. Wind Up
5. Streets Of Shame
6. My Guitar
7. Hold On
8. Genevieve
9. Angels Have Mercy

Raw To The Bone 2-CD Track List:
1. Cell of Fame
2. People in Motion
3. Don’t Cry
4. Love in Blue
5. Long live the Night
6. Rocket in my Pocket
7. It’s Only Love
8. Don’t You Mess
9. Dreams (Searching for an Answer)
10. Perfect Timing
Bonus Tracks:
11. She’s Still Alive
The 1986 Sessions
12. Apocalypso
13. Valley of Tears
14. Nkomo
15. Talk To Me

The Friday Rock Show
1. Long Live the Night
2. Cell of Fame
3. Love in Blue
4. People in Motion
Live at Hammersmith on BBC local radio
5. Living Proof
6. Cell of Fame
7. The King Will Come
8. Blowin’ Free

These two re-issues have been fully approved by Steve Upton, Laurie Wisefield, Andy Powell, Merv Spence, and the estate of Trevor Bolder. To order, please visit http://pmusic.co.

For more information about ordering the Wishbone Ash: The Vintage Years box set, please visit www.wishboneash.com, www.martinturnermusic.com and www.madfishmusic.com/wa

Editor's Note: Coming soon to Standing Room Only, an exclusive interview with Wishbone Ash's Andy Powell!