Review This...

Kyle Branche
Dec 15 2015 - 10:07pm

If Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers and The Allman Brothers Band ever had a secret baby, than Mark Knight would be their musical Black Crow of a love child, observing from the top of a tree, the top of a house, or the top of a mountain. In the lyrics of Knight's latest self-titled release, you may notice the ending of a previous life lived. But we also get the rebirth of another life beginning.

Joe Milliken
Dec 11 2015 - 1:28pm

ALBANY, NEW YORK - Having been a Genesis fan over four decades running, it was a thrill to recently experience live, Steve Hackett, the guitar virtuoso who played a major part in the legendary band's formative years. The setting was “The Egg,” a intimate and futuristic-looking (from the outside) venue in Albany, New York, that I had also yet to experience.

Joe Milliken
Nov 17 2015 - 10:04pm

NORTHAMPTON, MASSACHUSETTS – Joe Jackson is one of those artists that transcends music genres; pub rock, punk, jazz, R & B, ballads and even vibes of world music... and they were all on display on this fall night at Northampton's Academy of Music Theatre, which has the unique distinction of being the first municipality-owned theatre (established in 1891) in the United States.
Review and photos by Joe Milliken

Brian Koppenhaver
Aug 25 2015 - 5:27pm

CORNISH, NEW HAMPSHIRE - This music fan spent last Sunday afternooon enjoying longtime, New Hampshire/Vermont rockers VEHICLE, performing live at the Cornish Fair in Cornish, New Hampshire. The weather cooperated nicely and the band put on an entertaining show for the crowd, which just so happened to be peppered with several other great local musicians, all there to enjoy the music.

Joe Milliken
Jul 14 2015 - 11:07pm

Considering Scott “Top Ten” Kempner’s music roots, being a founding member of proto punk-rock icons The Dictators and all, you might not expect a live solo-acoustic release from the Bronx-born guitarist... and as it turns out, with this live recording, Kempner wasn’t expecting it either.

Joe Milliken
Jun 22 2015 - 11:58am

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA - A great song is one that drives people other than the author to perform it. A great song writer is one who gets you to drop out of your world and live, even if it is only for three minutes, in the world of the song. A great performer whisks you away into a time and place directed by the songs he or she decide to perform.

Camden Barbour
May 20 2015 - 6:25pm

DENVER, COLORADO - The Rocky Mountains, dividing the US continent, were created millions of years ago by a surge of unimaginable amount of energy. From this cataclysmic uproar a fluid stream of asphalt oozed up and poured over the prairie like a silkie layer of fudge on a hashish cake. Where herds of Winnebegos once roamed free, cowboys and cowgirls ride along in electric cars which say, “Mha, mha, mha” when you lay on the horn.

Camden Barbour
Apr 18 2015 - 4:57pm

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA - My ear plugs are still vibrating with the sounds of Blue Oyster Cult performing live in late March, at the RockBar in San Jose, California. Passing by all the big limousines in the parking lot, I flew into the venue and right away I could sense the special attention that a radio-friendly hit, or two, can bring to any show.

Christopher Bergmann
Apr 7 2015 - 2:12pm

When the announcement was made that Van Halen was releasing a complete concert from their 2013 tour with David Lee Roth, I had mixed feelings, as did many others. I’d watched some clips from shows on YouTube that didn’t impress me much-Although in fairness they were mostly fan recordings-But like so many, I wasn’t convinced that Diamond Dave could still front the band with the energy he used to.

Camden Barbour
Apr 4 2015 - 12:32pm

SAN RAFAEL, CALIFORNIA - My friends Patrick, Rocky and I went to Marin County to see the Roger Steen Band at the Fenix Supper Club in San Rafael on a Thursday evening in March. It was a warm, nearly spring evening. We anticipated what the band might play that evening as we drove over the Richmond-San Rafael bridge towards our exit on Fourth Street.