Review This...

Joe Milliken
Jul 14 2015 - 11:07pm

Considering Scott “Top Ten” Kempner’s music roots, being a founding member of proto punk-rock icons The Dictators and all, you might not expect a live solo-acoustic release from the Bronx-born guitarist... and as it turns out, with this live recording, Kempner wasn’t expecting it either.

Joe Milliken
Jun 22 2015 - 11:58am

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA - A great song is one that drives people other than the author to perform it. A great song writer is one who gets you to drop out of your world and live, even if it is only for three minutes, in the world of the song. A great performer whisks you away into a time and place directed by the songs he or she decide to perform.

Camden Barbour
May 20 2015 - 6:25pm

DENVER, COLORADO - The Rocky Mountains, dividing the US continent, were created millions of years ago by a surge of unimaginable amount of energy. From this cataclysmic uproar a fluid stream of asphalt oozed up and poured over the prairie like a silkie layer of fudge on a hashish cake. Where herds of Winnebegos once roamed free, cowboys and cowgirls ride along in electric cars which say, “Mha, mha, mha” when you lay on the horn.

Camden Barbour
Apr 18 2015 - 4:57pm

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA - My ear plugs are still vibrating with the sounds of Blue Oyster Cult performing live in late March, at the RockBar in San Jose, California. Passing by all the big limousines in the parking lot, I flew into the venue and right away I could sense the special attention that a radio-friendly hit, or two, can bring to any show.

Christopher Bergmann
Apr 7 2015 - 2:12pm

When the announcement was made that Van Halen was releasing a complete concert from their 2013 tour with David Lee Roth, I had mixed feelings, as did many others. I’d watched some clips from shows on YouTube that didn’t impress me much-Although in fairness they were mostly fan recordings-But like so many, I wasn’t convinced that Diamond Dave could still front the band with the energy he used to.

Camden Barbour
Apr 4 2015 - 12:32pm

SAN RAFAEL, CALIFORNIA - My friends Patrick, Rocky and I went to Marin County to see the Roger Steen Band at the Fenix Supper Club in San Rafael on a Thursday evening in March. It was a warm, nearly spring evening. We anticipated what the band might play that evening as we drove over the Richmond-San Rafael bridge towards our exit on Fourth Street.

Camden Barbour
Mar 17 2015 - 5:07pm

LOS ANGELES - From the land that stretches between the San Gabriel mountains to the Pacific ocean come the brothers, Ron and Russell Mael, performing as Sparks, celebrating the 40th anniversary of Kimono My House on Valentine’s Day in LA. A show I was lucky enough to attend, with my beautiful wife and darling friends and I believe, I am falling in love again.

Camden Barbour
Mar 9 2015 - 8:41pm

SAN JOSE, CA - A lot has changed between now and the last time I saw the Pat Travers Band in 1978. By the looks of the audience at the RockBar in San Jose, Pat Travers has accumulated a wiser, more refined and mature audience with enough unheeding animation to walk into a venue like the RockBar, on a Friday night and brave an evening of what is certain to be a night of loud music!

Joe Milliken
Feb 11 2015 - 10:51pm

Kasim Sulton, best known for his work alongside Todd Rundgren and as a member of the power-pop band Utopia, recently released his third solo album (in Oct. 2014) and aptly titled 3. This talented singer/songwriter/bassist/guitarist has an impressive resume, having performed and recorded with Mick Jagger, Cheap Trick, Meatloaf, Joan Jett, Patty Smith, Hall and Oates, Richie Sambora, Celine Dion, Bon Jovi, Patty Smyth, Blue Oyster Cult and Meat Loaf over his nearly 40-year career.

Brian Koppenhaver
Jan 14 2015 - 11:23am

So, find yourself a woody... find yourself a surfboard, because you're about to be taken back in time. An artist from Bellows Falls, Vermont, The Veitch Boys EP is released by Michael Veitch and will take you back to the feeling of the surf music craze of the 60s, which now has a genre name of Trop rock.