Review This...

Camden Barbour
Mar 17 2015 - 5:07pm

LOS ANGELES - From the land that stretches between the San Gabriel mountains to the Pacific ocean come the brothers, Ron and Russell Mael, performing as Sparks, celebrating the 40th anniversary of Kimono My House on Valentine’s Day in LA. A show I was lucky enough to attend, with my beautiful wife and darling friends and I believe, I am falling in love again.

Camden Barbour
Mar 9 2015 - 8:41pm

SAN JOSE, CA - A lot has changed between now and the last time I saw the Pat Travers Band in 1978. By the looks of the audience at the RockBar in San Jose, Pat Travers has accumulated a wiser, more refined and mature audience with enough unheeding animation to walk into a venue like the RockBar, on a Friday night and brave an evening of what is certain to be a night of loud music!

Joe Milliken
Feb 11 2015 - 10:51pm

Kasim Sulton, best known for his work alongside Todd Rundgren and as a member of the power-pop band Utopia, recently released his third solo album (in Oct. 2014) and aptly titled 3. This talented singer/songwriter/bassist/guitarist has an impressive resume, having performed and recorded with Mick Jagger, Cheap Trick, Meatloaf, Joan Jett, Patty Smith, Hall and Oates, Richie Sambora, Celine Dion, Bon Jovi, Patty Smyth, Blue Oyster Cult and Meat Loaf over his nearly 40-year career.

Brian Koppenhaver
Jan 14 2015 - 11:23am

So, find yourself a woody... find yourself a surfboard, because you're about to be taken back in time. An artist from Bellows Falls, Vermont, The Veitch Boys EP is released by Michael Veitch and will take you back to the feeling of the surf music craze of the 60s, which now has a genre name of Trop rock.

Christopher Bergmann
Dec 4 2014 - 10:28am

Pink Floyd is one of those bands that has left it's profound mark on so many. Their swan song release, The Endless River, is a gentle goodbye to those who shared their "real-time" timeline. There are a couple of pieces that are more up-tempo, but mainly it's a melancholy journey for the listener - and clearly the creators.

Joe Milliken
Oct 22 2014 - 1:41pm

BOSTON - Guitar legend Joe Perry has a new 'project' to talk about, but this time it's not his solo band releasing a new album. This time the Toxic Twin has released a book, co-written with acclaimed music biographer David Ritz (Buddy Guy, Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, Etta James) which unveils his side of the legendary yet sordid saga of one of rock music's greatest bands, Aerosmith.

Joe Milliken
Oct 1 2014 - 10:44pm

The release of Stonewall’s second full-length CD in late 2013 was certainly a welcome sight and sound for all their loyal fans, who had patiently waited for the band’s follow up to their debut CD What If?, which had been released in 2008. Well, this reviewer is one of those fans and let it be it was all worth the wait!

John Yake
Sep 18 2014 - 1:00pm

BURLINGTON, VERMONT - It’s not very often that someone gets the opportunity to see one of their musical heroes up close and personal. Sure, I’ve been to many concerts and have seen quite a few of my favorites, including the first time I saw Geddy Lee and Rush. I was utterly paralyzed; no fists in the air and no outward expressions of joy coming from me. It’s quite possible that I made it through the entire show without blinking... it was that good. Being a bass player myself, I have always naturally gravitated toward the bassists in my favorite bands.

Joe Milliken
Jul 27 2014 - 3:09pm

Being a fan of both jazz and rock music, it is always cool when I can draw from both genres when writing a review or article and in the case of this two-disc, Ed Palermo Big Band CD, add in the fact that I am also a huge admirer of the late-great Frank Zappa and well, I shouldn’t ask for more... but I did, also having the opportunity to recently interview Mr. Palermo for a Standing Room Only cover story.

Christopher Bergmann
Jul 2 2014 - 10:12am

Last year, to mark the 40th Anniversary of The Who’s classic album Quadrophenia, the band hit the road to play the album in its entirety, along with a handful of classic hits. The resulting live recording is an extraordinary show that - thanks to digital technology - feels like you’re right there in the front row. The sound is beautifully mastered in 5.1 surround and the video is top notch.