Review This...

Christopher Bergmann
Dec 4 2014 - 10:28am

Pink Floyd is one of those bands that has left it's profound mark on so many. Their swan song release, The Endless River, is a gentle goodbye to those who shared their "real-time" timeline. There are a couple of pieces that are more up-tempo, but mainly it's a melancholy journey for the listener - and clearly the creators.

Joe Milliken
Oct 22 2014 - 1:41pm

BOSTON - Guitar legend Joe Perry has a new 'project' to talk about, but this time it's not his solo band releasing a new album. This time the Toxic Twin has released a book, co-written with acclaimed music biographer David Ritz (Buddy Guy, Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, Etta James) which unveils his side of the legendary yet sordid saga of one of rock music's greatest bands, Aerosmith.

Joe Milliken
Oct 1 2014 - 10:44pm

The release of Stonewall’s second full-length CD in late 2013 was certainly a welcome sight and sound for all their loyal fans, who had patiently waited for the band’s follow up to their debut CD What If?, which had been released in 2008. Well, this reviewer is one of those fans and let it be it was all worth the wait!

John Yake
Sep 18 2014 - 1:00pm

BURLINGTON, VERMONT - It’s not very often that someone gets the opportunity to see one of their musical heroes up close and personal. Sure, I’ve been to many concerts and have seen quite a few of my favorites, including the first time I saw Geddy Lee and Rush. I was utterly paralyzed; no fists in the air and no outward expressions of joy coming from me. It’s quite possible that I made it through the entire show without blinking... it was that good. Being a bass player myself, I have always naturally gravitated toward the bassists in my favorite bands.

Joe Milliken
Jul 27 2014 - 3:09pm

Being a fan of both jazz and rock music, it is always cool when I can draw from both genres when writing a review or article and in the case of this two-disc, Ed Palermo Big Band CD, add in the fact that I am also a huge admirer of the late-great Frank Zappa and well, I shouldn’t ask for more... but I did, also having the opportunity to recently interview Mr. Palermo for a Standing Room Only cover story.

Christopher Bergmann
Jul 2 2014 - 10:12am

Last year, to mark the 40th Anniversary of The Who’s classic album Quadrophenia, the band hit the road to play the album in its entirety, along with a handful of classic hits. The resulting live recording is an extraordinary show that - thanks to digital technology - feels like you’re right there in the front row. The sound is beautifully mastered in 5.1 surround and the video is top notch.

Christopher Bergmann
Jun 18 2014 - 8:52am

In recent years, Jethro Tull front-man Ian Anderson’s output has not always left his fans satisfied. Such as the strange Jethro Tull album J.Tull.com, which like the technology he was allegorically criticizing, was lyrically dated almost as soon as it was released in 1999. Since then, he has released a handful of solo albums, none of which feature many of the elements Tull fans expect.

Joe Milliken
Jun 12 2014 - 2:00pm

BELLOWS FALLS, VERMONT – Although a local resident for many years, this music writer had admittedly, never attended the Roots on th Riverfestival before last weekend’s 15th annual. Mostly, I suppose, because my musical tastes lean more towards multiple genres of rock, jazz and blues... as opposed to the mostly roots, folk and bluegrass genres featured at Roots.

Joe Milliken
May 25 2014 - 11:41am

Singer, song writer and Georgia, Vermont-resident Carol Ann Jones releases her third CD, titled Super Charged! Fourteen original songs written over several years of song writing growth. “I actually wrote the songs on Super Charged! over a seven year period,” Jones recently told Standing Room Only. “Some of which while working part-time at the Georgia, Vermont Post Office.”

Joe Milliken
Apr 22 2014 - 10:27am

B11 is a guitar-driven, jazz trio led by Bulgarian-born Boyan Hristov, a blazing guitar player armed with a degree from Boston’s Berklee School of Music and a new CD that offers a half dozen of his compositions, as well as several well-chosen covers (15 tracks total) from such diverse artists as Henry Mancini, Stevie Wonder, Lou Donaldson and Big John Patton.